Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Dallas Cowboys in the Pro Bowl: The Joy of Six

By Richie Whitt in Dallas Cowboys

Punter Mat McBriar (he's forced a league-high 23 fair catches) seems a thorny omission and a case can be made for quarterback Tony Romo (five less touchdowns than Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers, but 18 less sacks), but the Dallas Cowboys should be pleased to have landed six players on the NFC Pro Bowl team.

Starters include linebacker DeMarcus Ware and center Andre Gurode, backed by receiver Miles Austin, guard Leonard Davis, nose tackle Jay Ratliff and tight end Jason Witten. It's not the baker's dozen 13 of 2007, but when you consider that the AFC North champion Cincinnati Bengals have zero Pro Bowlers and that only the NFC North champ Minnesota Vikings have more (8), the Cowboys are fairly represented.


By the way, remember way back in training camp when we were stressing over how the Cowboys were going to replace Terrell Owens' stats? Who knew the answer was so simple: Miles Austin.