Thursday, June 04, 2009

Staubach, Peterson Highlight HOF Presenters

Posted by Mike Florio

Earlier today, Bills owner Ralph Wilson said that ESPN’s Chris Berman will present the long-time AFL and NFL owner for induction into the Hall of Fame.

The other five presenters also have been identified.

Per the Hall of Fame’s web site, the late Bob Hayes will be presented by former Cowboys quarterback and Hall of Famer Roger Staubach. The late Derrick Thomas will be presented by the man who drafted him two decades ago, former Chiefs G.M. Carl Peterson.

Bruce Smith will be presented by former Bills defensive coordinator Ted Cottrell. And that’s a coup of sorts for the UFL, since Cottrell will serve as the head coach for one of the new league’s four teams in 2009.

Rod Woodson will be presented by Tracy Foster, a long-time friend and business associate. Finally, Randall McDaniel will be presented by O.K. Fulton, his high school athletic director and assistant principal at Agua Fria Union High School in Avondale, Arizona.